About Me

 

me_cropped

Maybe it’d help if you knew something about me – unlikely, but as WordPress keeps bugging me to create an “about me” page – why the heck not.

I’m 40 – live in Glasgow (Scotland), I’m married and have two beautiful girls.

The photo to the left is me. Don’t I look happy? I’ve just won the Gold medal at the Scottish Indoor Rowing Championships. And in case you’re wondering, my left shoulder has a life of its own – always higher than the right. I blame it on years of carrying squash bags…

My job is a video editor – so I spend most days sitting at a desk for 9-10 hours a day making television programmes. As frustrating as many elements of this job can be at times, it’s a great way to make a living. It’s easy to get ground down by the little things, but stepping back and looking at the bigger view – I’m doing something I love doing – and I think if you can manage that with what you have to do day in and day out – you’ve won!

Of course, the downside is that I sit at a desk all day long. Not the best thing to do when you’re trying to train to break a world record!!! I manage to get to the gym at lunchtimes, for not the biggest of workouts – about 25 minutes on the rower, then some stretching, but it’s enough to keep me ticking over. I’ve also got an erg and some weights in my garage, so tend to abandon my wife around 21:00 each night to go row / train.

I’m a creature of habit. And this helps – a lot. Once I get into a groove, I can stay in it – almost indefinitely it seems. When I post stuff about diet, you’ll see how this manifests. Take for example the fact that for nearly two years straight, I’ve had exactly the same lunch at work. Day in / day out I’ve had a ‘bed’ of spinach leaves, with chicken breast on top. Nothing else. No oil / dressing / nuts / sauce to tart up the taste at all. I see lunch as a functional meal, meant just to give me fuel and stop me being hungry. So it’s quite easy to stick to this.

Between this creature of habit nature, and also having quite an addictive personality, I hope that I’ve already got a lot of the mental side of making myself train in the bag already. It’ll just be the type of training, and the tenacity to push past my comfort level that I’ll need to work on.